The laws surrounding LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender) marriage in the United States have undergone significant changes in recent years. Same-sex marriage was not recognized by any state until a landmark Supreme Court ruling in 2015, and the laws regarding LGBT marriage in the US are still evolving. In this article, we will discuss the current laws surrounding LGBT marriage in the United States.

1. Same-sex marriage is legal nationwide

In 2015, the Supreme Court of the United States issued a landmark ruling in the case of Obergefell v. Hodges, which legalized same-sex marriage nationwide. The court ruled that states must recognize same-sex marriages and must provide the same rights and benefits to same-sex couples as opposite-sex couples. This means that same-sex couples are now able to legally marry in all 50 states and have their marriages recognized under federal law.

2. Conversion therapy is banned in some states

Conversion therapy, also known as “ex-gay” therapy, is a controversial practice that aims to change a person’s sexual orientation or gender identity. It has been widely discredited by medical and psychological organizations, and is now banned in some states in the USA. For example, California, Connecticut, Illinois, Nevada, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington D.C. have banned conversion therapy for minors.

3. Adoption laws vary by state

Adoption laws in the United States vary by state, and some states have different laws for same-sex couples than for opposite-sex couples. For example, in some states, same-sex couples may adopt jointly, while in others, one member of the couple must adopt as a single parent. It’s important for same-sex couples to check the laws of the state in which they reside if they are considering adoption.

4. Discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity is illegal in some states

Discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity is illegal in some states, but not all. Federal laws do not protect LGBT individuals from discrimination in areas such as employment, accommodation, and goods and services. However, some states and municipalities have passed their own laws to protect LGBT individuals from discrimination.

5. Supreme Court’s recent ruling on discrimination

Recently in 2020, the US Supreme Court ruled that the Civil Rights Act of 1964, which bans sex discrimination, also applies to discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity. The decision means that it is now illegal to discriminate against LGBT workers nationwide, but it does not provide protection in other areas such as housing and public accommodations

In conclusion, marriage laws in the United States have undergone significant changes with the legalization of same-sex marriage nationwide, however, laws regarding conversion therapy, adoption and discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity still vary by state. It’s important for LGBT individuals to be aware of their rights and to seek legal advice if they feel their rights have been violated.


About Author